Grand Challenges Canada is a not-for-profit organization created, in part, with funding from the Government of Canada. We adhere to strict controls and oversight. We fund and provide support to not-for-profit and charitable organizations, academic institutions and socially-minded small- and medium-sized businesses in Canada and low- and middle-income countries.

  • Guylaine Saucier

    Guylaine Saucier

    Board Chair, Grand Challenges Canada

  • Alain Beaudet

    Alain Beaudet

    Past President, Canadian Institutes of Health Research

  • Cédric Bisson

    Cédric Bisson

    Partner, Teralys Capital

  • Marine Buissonnière

    Marine Buissonnière

    Independent Researcher and Advisor in Humanitarian Action and Global Health; Senior Advisor, Resolve to Save Lives

  • Daniel Carucci

    Daniel Carucci

    Global Chief Medical Officer, McCann Health

  • Johanne Charbonneau

    Johanne Charbonneau

    Retired Financial Executive/Corporate Director

    Chair of Audit, Finance & Risk Committee

  • Awa Marie Coll Seck

    Awa Marie Coll Seck

    Minister of State to the President of Senegal

  • Mohamed H.A. Hassan

    Mohamed H.A. Hassan

    President, The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS)

  • Gerhard Pries

    Gerhard Pries

    Founder and Executive Chair, Sarona Asset Management Inc., Chair of the Investment Committee

  • Morris Rosenberg

    Morris Rosenberg

    Chair of Governance & Human Resources Committee

  • Mercy Mwangangi

    Former Chief Administrative Secretary at the Ministry of Health, Kenya, Masters in Health Economics and Policy at University of Adelaide, Medical Degree from University of Nairobi

  • Karlee Silver


    Chief Executive Officer

  • Peter A. Singer

    Peter A. Singer


    World Health Organization

Former Board Members

Grand Challenges Canada would like to acknowledge the guidance and leadership provided by the former members of our Board of Directors.

  • Joseph L. Rotman

    Founding Chairman

  • Robert Bell

  • Abdallah Daar

  • Elizabeth Dowdeswell

  • Charles Field-Marsham

  • Allan Gotlieb

  • Jean Lebel

  • Mwelecele Malecela

  • David M. Malone

  • Allan R. Ronald