Scientific Advisory Board

Abdallah Daar (Canada/Tanzania/Oman)

Chair of Scientific Advisory Board
Professor of Clinical Public Health and Global Health, Dalla Lana School of Public Health; Professor of Surgery, University of Toronto; Member of the United Nations Secretary-General’s Scientific Advisory Board

Jane Aubin (Canada)

Chief Scientific Officer/Vice President of Research, Knowledge Translation and Ethics, Canadian Institutes of Health Research

Lorne Babiuk (Canada)

Vice President (Research), University of Alberta; Grand Challenge in Global Health Initiative Grantee

Sir John Bell (United Kingdom)

Regius Professor of Medicine, University of Oxford

Michel G. Bergeron (Canada)

Professor, Founder and Director, Centre de Recherche en Infectiologie, Université Laval (Quebec City)

Zulfiqar Bhutta (Canada/Pakistan)

Co-director and Director of Research, Centre for Global Child Health, SickKids; Founding Director, Centre of Excellence in Women and Child Health; Professor, Department of Nutritional Sciences, University of Toronto; Professor, Division of Epidemiology, Dalla Lana School of Public Health

Cédric Bisson (Canada)

Partner, Teralys Capital

Jane Cardosa (Malaysia)

CSO, Sentinext Therapeutics; Former Director, Institute of Health and Community Medicine, Universiti Malaysia Sarawak

Pamela Collins (United States)

Director, Office for Research on Disparities and Global Mental Health; Director, Office of Rural Mental Health Research, U.S. National Institute of Mental Health

Christine Debouck (United States)

President of Ardennes Biosciences LLC; Former Senior Vice President, Genetics Research, GlaxoSmithKline

Tim Draimin (Canada)

Executive Director, Social Innovation Generation

Paul Dufour (Canada)

Fellow/Adjunct Professor, Institute for Science, Society and Policy, University of Ottawa; Principal, PaulicyWorks

Darrell Elliott (Canada)

CEO, Isuma Strategies Inc.

Nirmal K. Ganguly (India)

Advisor, Translational Health Science and Technology Institute (India); President, Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education and Research (India); Past Director General, Indian Council of Medical Research

Kiyoshi Kurokawa (Japan)

Chairman, Health and Global Policy Institute; Professor Emeritus, University of Tokyo; Former Science Advisor to the Cabinet of Japan

Charles Larson (Canada)

Director, Centre for International Child Health; Clinical Professor, Department of Pediatrics, University of British Columbia; Senior Associate Clinician Scientist, Child & Family Research Institute

Joy Lawn (United Kingdom)

Director, Maternal, Reproductive and Child Health Centre, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine

Crick Lund (South Africa)

Director, Alan J Flisher Centre for Public Mental Health; Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Mental Health, University of Cape Town

Mwelecela Malecela (Tanzania)

Director General, National Institute for Medical Research, Tanzania

Anita McGahan (Canada)

Professor of Strategic Management, Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto

Stephen McGurk (Canada)

Acting Vice President of Programs, International Development Research Centre

Hassan Mshinda (Tanzania)

Director General, Tanzania Commission for Science and Technology (COSTECH)

Vikram Patel (India/United Kingdom)

Professor, International Mental Health and Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellow in Clinical Science, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine

Frank Plummer (Canada)

Special Advisor, Public Health Agency of Canada; Former Professor of Medicine and Medical Microbiology, University of Manitoba

Gerhard Pries (Canada)

Founder, Managing Partner and CEO, Sarona Asset Management Inc.; Founding Director and Vice Chairman, MicroVest General Partner Holdings

Shekhar Saxena (Switzerland)

Director, Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse, World Health Organization

Jack Shonkoff (Canada)

Julius B. Richmond FAMRI Professor of Child Health and Development, Harvard School of Public Health and the Harvard Graduate School of Education; Professor of Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School and Boston Children’s Hospital; Director, Center on the Developing Child, Harvard University

Kishor M. Wasan (Canada)

Professor and Dean, College Pharmacy and Nutrition, University of Saskatchewan; Adjunct Professor and Director, Neglected Global Diseases Initiative, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of British Columbia

Yongyuth Yuthavong (Thailand)

Former Minister of Science and Technology, Thailand